OUR MISSION
The mission of Black Men’s Initiative (BMI) is to reduce the rate of HIV infection and transmission among New York City-based
men of color who have sex with men. We strive to support HIV negative men in staying negative, and we work with HIV-positive individuals to make sure they have access to care.

To achieve our mission, BMI provides evidence-based HIV prevention interventions, comprehensive risk reduction counseling, confidential HIV rapid testing and access to primary care, mental health, and supportive housing services within the larger Harlem United organization. BMI delivers service through three primary complementary and interconnected units – CEO, HOME & Testing Services – in order to provide a continuum of prevention services and connection to care.



Our Services
BMI provides a range of evidence-based and tailored HIV prevention interventions. Individuals need options for how they access the services provided at a community-based organization. For this reason, we provide individual, group, and community-level HIV prevention services so that our clients can choose a level of affiliation that is comfortable for them.

Additionally, BMI clients have access to primary care and supportive housing services provided by our colleagues in the Housing and Healthcare divisions at Harlem United. Our services are made available in the field and at our office on 125th Street. BMI provides a continuum of care for Black men who have sex with men that is currently unmatched in New York City
.



ABOUT THE AGENCY

The Black Men’s Initiative is made available by local and federal grants awarded to the Foundation for Research on Sexually Transmitted Diseases (FROST'D) and it’s parent organization, Harlem United Community AIDS Center. The two agencies entered into a strategic alliance on July 1, 2007.
(Review Press Release)

Together, both agencies will offer “cutting-edge” prevention services including: HIV counseling and testing; sterile syringe exchange; and STD and hepatitis screening and vaccinations. In addition, the collaboration between the two agencies will create an unparalleled continuum of supportive housing services for people with AIDS, ranging from emergency transitional housing to long-term programs which encourage independent living.




 
     
Founded in 1988, Harlem United is a community-based organization offering healthcare, supportive housing, and HIV prevention, education and outreach to people suffering from, or at risk of, HIV/AIDS. For more information about Harlem United, please browse its website at www.harlemunited.org.   Founded in 1986, FROST’D is a community-based organization offering supportive housing and HIV prevention, education, and outreach to people living with, or at risk of, HIV/AIDS. For more information about FROST’D, please browse its website at www.frostd.org.


CONTACT BMI


Mailing Address:

Black Men’s Initiative (BMI)

c/o Harlem United Community AIDS Center, Inc.

104 East 126th Street, Suite 1A

New York, NY 10035

Phone:      (646) 216-3266

Toll Free:  (855) TEST-BMI

Fax:           (212) 860-8719
Email: info@blackmensinitiative.org




THE TEAM
     
MANAGEMENT H.O.M.E.
   
Jacoby Johnson
Managing Director, BMI
jjohnson@harlemunited.org 
Benjamin Parker
H.O.M.E. Coordinator
bparker@harlemunited.org
   
Raynal Jabouin, Jr., M.Ed
Program Director, Community Education & Testing Services

rjabouin@harlemunited.org  

Luis Ramirez
Case Follow-up Worker
lramirez@harlemunited.org 

   

ADMINISTRATION

Nona Moore
Administrative Coordinator
nmoore@harlemunited.org

Trevoy Ross
Senior Health Counselor

tross@harlemunited.org

 

Sean Carrington, MS, LMSW
Clinical Supervisor
 
scarrington@harlemunited.org 

COMMUNITY EDUCATION TESTING SERVICES
   
Daniel Rodriguez
Coordinator, Community Education
drodriguez@harlemunited.org  

Nelson Villegas
Program Coordinator, Testing Services
nvillegas@harlemunited.org  

   
Raymond L. Williams
Prevention Specialist
rlwilliams@harlemunited.org 

Lameeki Williams
Program Enroller
lwilliams@harlemunited.org

   
Christopher Humphrey
Community Health Specialist
chumphrey@harlemunited.org 

Michael Gibson
Test Counselor
mgibson@harlemunited.org  

   
 

Tanesha Douglas
Outreach Specialist
tdouglas@harlemunited.org  

   


EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES

 
No current vacancies. Please check back periodically.
 
 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

BMI is grateful for support from the following federal and local agencies:

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
www.cdc.gov  


Public Health Solutions

www.healthsolutions.org


The New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

www.nyc.gov/doh








HOME  |   ABOUT BLACK MEN'S INITIATIVE   |   PROGRAMS   |   BLACK MY INFO: BLOG   |   RESOURCES   |   EVENTS   |   MEDIA ROOM  

2011 Black Men's Initiative |  All rights reserved. |                                                    All models are used for illustrative purposes only.

CDC Disclaimer
: This website was supported by a grant (# 1U65PS002656-0) from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC).
Its contents are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the views of the CDC.